Skip to content

On “Flâneur”

February 5, 2013

Researching the concept of “heteronyms” (see my last Blog) I came across this other literary term, Flâneur, that I had known but had my own, erroneous, idea about what it meant.  Rather I like what it says here on Wikipedia.  And I realized it is what I am inclined to be, or do — wander the street of this tiny seacoast city that I once romanticized as an American West coast Alexandria.  It’s not.  It’s not anything, it’s just this small, bourgeois place on the edge of America.

But I like to wander, or, as the Situationists once termed it, la dérive.  My favorite escapes are to the larger cities of Portland (my favorite) or, daringly, San Francisco to just drift, wander for the weekend, seeing where my bootsoles will take me.

I’ve certainly not a “man of leisure,” having the daily grind of 9 to 5, may never be, but on my off hours, on my weekends, holiday long weekends, etc. I love to hang out, wander the coffee shops during the day, the bars at night, the streets in between.  I’m not a fan of the Redwoods, instead the sound of the surf keeps me close to the shore.  And I can walk the same streets over & over as they change in the light, as the faces, figures cross my path.  Or sit in Starbucks or one of the local places, like Fisherman’s, & watch the world pass by.

From → Ponderings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

