Skip to content

Wordle Post

March 25, 2011
The Mermaid

There were more fish in the Sea they said after the last one
swam off, persuaded me to cast my line, then perhaps
fry by the fire with a crisp white wine, or let go
with a pat on the gills.  But my line snagged The Mermaid.

The green of her tail was the perfect color for her pale
skin flecked like scales & the dazzle of her hair
& there were those deep water eyes, always wet
as if from the Sea, but from within.

I tried to be The Fisherman, rugged calloused hands
& heart, each scar a secret.  I held her with soft hands
safe in the crook of my arm.  This was a keeper
I thought just when she returned to the Sea.

Perhaps she will find my hook, one
afternoon again, my line, my sinker.
From → Poems

4 Comments
  1. Ah, poor fisherman.
    I like your wordle: fishy

  2. Like the fisherman, sas but fishy.

  3. Love it, such a sweet poem

  4. I like the idea of the eyes being wet from seas within. Lovely story.

Leave a Reply

